Vista pay dispute lawyers and overtime dispute attorneys from Ceartas Legal provide representation and counsel to employees in a variety of wage and hour disputes. We protect employee rights and defend their interests in cases against employers. If you are dealing with an employment law case in Vista, San Diego County, or any of the communities in Southern California, please give our law office a call to arrange for a consultation.
If an employer has failed to pay you correctly in accord with state and federal law, we may be able to help you recover what you are owed. Contact Vista Wage and Hour Lawyer Timothy Keegan or Greg Klawitter to arrange for a private consultation. After reviewing the case, we will answer questions, explain your rights, and provide options that could help you gain proper compensation.
The law demands that employers pay workers fairly. The Fair Labor Standards Act, as well as other California legislation, covers the following issues and more:
Work Expenses (Unreimbursed)
Independent Contractor Misclassification
Non-Exempt (Wage Earners)
Exempt (Salaried) Employees
Work Performed off the Clock
Non-exempt employees must be paid according to minimum wage laws for every hour worked. Overtime is to be paid at 1.5 times the normal rate, and is due for any hours over eight that are worked in one shift. If an employee works more than six days in a row, overtime must be paid for the first eight hours worked on the seventh day. Double pay is mandated for any hours worked beyond 12 in one shift. It must also be paid for any hours beyond eight that are worked on the seventh workday in a row.
If a job normally entails a schedule of 40 hours worked in four days, the overtime rate would only be paid when the regular 40 hours is exceeded.
Any overtime that is due must be paid at the next payday. In the event that an employer fails to pay wages properly, our Vista overtime dispute attorneys and pay dispute lawyers may be able to pursue legal action against them.
When a worker is fired, their employer is required to pay all wages due, including any unused time off.
In cases where an employee quits without notice, employers have three days to provide the final check. If the worker has given notice before quitting, the final paycheck must be presented on the last day of work. If an employer refuses to follow these guidelines, they may be required to pay fines. Such fines increase each day the check is not paid, and may accrue for 30 days maximum.
The Vista wage and hour attorneys at Ceartas Legal are knowledgeable regarding such wage and labor laws. Please call our office to learn more about how to resolve your specific employment dispute.
Call Vista Wage and Overtime Violation Attorneys
The wage and hour lawyers at our law firm defend employee rights during disputes with employers. Our Vista attorneys appreciate that you work hard to earn a living, and we diligently pursue just compensation for our clients.
Call our Vista wage and hour attorneys at (619) 819-9396 and (619) 819-5120. We are pleased to offer a free consultation and discuss the details of your case. Alternatively, our case evaluation and contact form can be used. Our law office will contact you to schedule an appointment.